A New Experience

I was five years old when I saw my first play. It was during a school trip to a local theatre where we watched a musical rendition of The Wizard of Oz, and while my memory of the actual play has dimmed, I can still vividly remember how magical that evening had felt to me. The bright lights, the setting of the stage, the actors in their costumes, the whole play was like nothing I had ever seen before, and while I had always been a lover of the art of storytelling, it was at this moment my love for theatre truly began.

When I was seven, my family moved to Saudi Arabia due to a job opportunity my father was greatly interested in. Growing up in the Middle East was an interesting experience to say the least, and while there were parts about it I will always love, the general atmosphere was quite restricting. There are no cinemas in Saudi Arabia, nor any theatres for plays. The only form of theatre I experienced during these years was the few plays included in the literature books given to us at school. While we were never actually assigned any of these plays to study in class, I would always read them by myself in my spare time. Although reading has always been a great hobby of mine, I can still remember thinking how amazing it would be to have the opportunity to actually watch the scenes being acted out on the big stage.

cq5dam-web-1280-1280
Riyadh, capital city of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

 

 

My twin sister and I moved back to Canada when we were eighteen to pursue our undergraduate degrees at Western. It was here that we discovered a new passion in the form of Classical Studies, and we even decided to minor in it. My favourite course had been ancient mythology, because it had wonderfully combined my love for history and theatre all into one course. This course introduced me to some of the oldest forms of theatre, as we read works from a few of the most famous ancient Greek playwrights, including Euripides and Sophocles.

61026-004-a17dcee3
Ancient Greek theatre at Epidaurus

When my sister and I applied to Destination Theatre in our first semester of our fourth year at Western, I did not believe that either of us had a really great chance of getting accepted. I was therefore ecstatic to learn that we had both been given this amazing opportunity to participate in this course. As is the case with any new experience, however, I do carry a few apprehensions. While I have always loved theatre, I have never studied it from an academic standpoint.  A lot of the concepts of Theatre Studies, which are very familiar to most that have chosen to take this class, are quite foreign to me. Knowing that I am probably the most inexperienced in this class really isn’t the most comforting feeling! But as a student of the sciences, I never had much of a chance to explore my interests in the world of the arts, and I am absolutely thrilled to be able to experience, once again, the theatre I had loved so much as a child, and that I had read so frequently growing up.

Maham Ahmed is a fourth year at Western University completing an Honors Specialization in Microbiology and Immunology along side a minor in Classical Studies.

Leave a Reply

